## ILLINOIS GRADE SCHOOL MUSIC ASSOCIATION

**Northern Division** 

## 69th ANNUAL STATE FALL MEMBERSHIP MEETING

Monday, September 24, 2007 Maria's Restaurant - Morris, IL

#### **MINUTES OF THE MEETING**

The 69th Annual Fall Membership Meeting of the Illinois Grade School Music Association, Northern Division, held at Maria

Restaurant in Morris, was called to order at 10:04 A.M. by President Wesley Russell. A welcome to the members in attendance
was extended by President Russell, followed by his introduction of the District Chairpersons, members of the Executive
Committee and the Advisors. Special mention was given to the new members of the Executive Board: Deborah Johnson ó
District I, Lisa Eaton ó District IV, Jeff Muraida ó District VI and Mark Duker, District IX.

President Russell reminded the membership to complete the Attendance Forms and explained the procedure for receiving CPDU credit for attendance at this meeting. Members were reminded to also sign the CPDU form and retain a copy of the Meeting Agenda for their records.

John Armstrong, a member of the Cloyd Myers Memorial Award Committee, presented Mr. Chip De Stefano of McCracken Middle School in Skokie, who presented the 2007 Award to Beth Lehner of McCracken Middle School. Mr. De Stefano made introductory comments regarding her career and accomplishments to date. Beth Lehner graciously accepted the Award, indicating that this was her 28<sup>th</sup> and final year of teaching.

Ellen Singer, Chairperson of the Barbara Buehlman Young Conductor Award, explained the criteria for making the selection of the recipient of this Award. She then described the accomplishments and innovations of the 2007 recipient. With congratulations, she presented the Award to George Huff of Highland Middle School in Libertyville.

Mr. Russell extended thanks to the Committees for their work, and congratulations to the recipients.

A motion to accept the minutes of the 2006 Annual State Fall Membership Meeting was made by Peggy Bonner. Second: Jennifer Ketchmark **Motion Carried** 

Vice President John Armstrong reported the status of medals and plaques in inventory and described activities of his office. An increase in medal prices and reaction to the revised Honors Plaque were topics included.

The Audit Report of the Association francial activity for the previous year was presented. The records were found to be in order. A motion to accept the Audit Report was made by Ken George. Second: Loma Mills **Motion Carried** 

Executive Secretary-Treasurer Edward Jones presented the Financial Report, a copy of which had been placed in the membersø folders. The detailed report indicated total assets of \$9, 244.94 and a cash balance of \$406.20.

### **Report of the Executive Board:**

Each member folder contained a copy of the Resolutions forthcoming from the Executive Board for their convenience in considering the Resolutions. Resolutions presented by members of the Executive Board were in the form of motions and required no second.

Lisa Kiener-Barnett recommended a Bylaws change: Page 12, Item 13, under Rules Governing Solo and Ensemble Contests ó Add: Directors will not be allowed to discuss the rating given to a student with the adjudicator. **Motion Carried** 

Cindy Bridges recommended to increase the medal cost to Districts from \$1.15 each to \$1.30 each effective the 2007-2008 school year. **Motion Carried** 

Lisa Kiener-Barnett recommended to eliminate stipends to State Contest Hosts. Motion Carried

Ellen Singer recommended a Bylaws change: Page 10, Contest Fees, Item 2 ó Raise Contest Fees to \$4.00 per student effective for the 2009-2009 school year. **Motion Carried** 

Deb Johnson recommended a Constitution change: Page 3, Article III, Membership ó Raise director fee to \$15.00 effective for the 2008-2009 school year. **Motion Failed** 

Lisa Kiener-Barnett recommended a Bylaw change: Page 11, Item 3, last sentence, under Rules Governing Solo and Ensemble Contests ó Change to read: E-Print Music may be used but must be labeled or a receipt shown to indicate it is not a photocopy. **Motion Carried** 

John Armstrong recommended a Constitution change: Page 7, Article XII, Cloyd Myers Memorial Award ó Chane deadline date from August 15 to June 1. **Motion Carried** 

John Armstrong recommended a Constitution change: Page 7, Article XIII, Barbara Buehlman Young Conductor Award 6 Add a deadline of June 1. **Motion Carried** 

Ed Winkler recommended to order 3000 IGSMA Ball Point pens at \$ .59 each. Edward Jones moved to amend the previous motion to order 1000 IGSMA Ball Point pens at \$ .59 each. Second: John Armstrong **Motion Carried** 

Ed Winkler recommended the salary of the Executive Secretary-Treasurer be increased by 3% for 2007-2008 to \$9548.00, President up 3% to \$3819.00, Vice President up 3% to \$4774.00 and Clerical up 3% to \$5253.00. This results in a total increase of \$681.00 for the year. **Motion Failed** 

John Armstrong, Vice President, moved on Page 3, Article III, Membership, in the Constitution to raise District membership fee to \$100.00 effective the 2008-2009 school year. **No Second – Motion Failed** 

Ann Marie Markle. Metamora, moved that the school district fee be raised to \$100.00 effective for the 2008-09 school year. Second: John Armstrong **Motion Failed** 

Damien Aherne, Independence JHS, Palos Heights, moved to keep school registration fee of \$70.00 but have a \$20.00 ensemble fee to oppose the director fee. Second: Valerie Wolter **Motion Failed** 

Beverly Stenoish, Roosevelt Magnet, Peoria, moved to raise the District fee to \$100.00 and Director fee to \$15.00. **No Second – Motion Failed** 

Cindy Bridges, District 2 Chairperson, moved to raise the Director fee to \$20.00 effective for the 2008-2009 school year. Second: Lisa Eaton **Motion Carried** 

# **Report of the Nominating Committee**

Edward Winkler, Chairperson of the Nominating Committee, recommended the nominations of Wesley Russell for President and John Armstrong for Vice President. Mr. Winkler asked if there were nominations from the floor. Hearing none, he recommended that a unanimous vote be cast for the persons nominated. Jeff Muraida moved to elect Wesley Russell as President and John Armstrong as Vice President. Second: Tom Dorner Motion Carried

Edward Jones was appointed to the position of Executive Secretary-Treasurer.

Lisa Kiener-Barnett moved to increase officer salaries by 2%. Second: Clifford Hunt Motion Carried

#### **New Business**

No changes were suggested for the Five Year Calendar.

The publication procedure to be followed in a move to reduce expenses for the Association was explained. The Membership Book, Constitution and Bylaws, *How To Host A Contest* Booklet and various forms will be forwarded to the membership by CD.

The Annual State Fall Meeting date was set for September 22, 2008.

President Russell announced to the membership that this will be his last year to serve the Association as President.

#### **Program**

Ken George, director at Indiana School in Park Forest, IL, did a presentation entitled õMoving Into The Digital Ageö in which he detailed the current procedures and expectations for the future of recording.

Edward Jones Executive Secretary-Treasurer